shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View Cart Check Out

FA President, Bickerton, has been named as one member of the FIFA Finance Committee, one of just 9 Committees charged to oversee and direct Football activity

the BVI Football Association has announced that its President, Andy Bickerton, has been named as a member of the FIFA Finance Committee for a 4-year term commencing January 1, 2017.

FIFA is the world football’s governing body and under new FIFA President Gianni Infantino, the number of Standing Committee’s was reduced from 26 to 9, in accordance with the reform package approved by the Extraordinary FIFA Congress in February 2016,

The standing committees: Governance Committee, Finance Committee, Development Committee, Organising Committee for FIFA Competitions, Football Stakeholders Committee, Member Associations Committee, Players’ Status Committee, Referees Committee, and Medical Committee.

As indicated in the FIFA Statutes, the Governance, Finance and Development Committees include at least 50 per cent of members who fulfil the independence criteria listed in the FIFA Governance Regulations.

The Finance Committee is charged with the responsibility of overseeing FIFA’s finances. Mr. Bickerton recently retired as Managing Director at BDO Limited. Andy’s long and illustrious career in accounting has spanned the globe including stints in Zambia and Bahamas before settling in the BVI in 1982 to make it his permanent home.

“I am deeply honoured to be appointed to this position.  The responsibility of helping to oversee the finances of FIFA and to play a part in restoring its financial reputation after its recent well published financial problems fills me with both trepidation and anticipation. I am confident that my experience of building BDO and providing financial services support to the BVI community provides me with the necessary background to assist in the restoration of FIFA’s financial reputation and will also enable me to promote the interests of football in the BVI within the corridors of FIFA.”

Standing committee members have a term of office of four years and have passed a compulsory eligibility check carried out by the Review Committee, except for the Governance Committee members whose eligibility was checked by the investigatory chamber of the independent Ethics Committee.