shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View Cart Check Out

The Sugar Boys are the Inaugural Presidents Cup Winners after defeating National League Championship winners, the Islanders F.C.

The Sugar Boys put the disappointment of losing out on the National League Championship by beating the Islanders 1-0, to win the Presidents Cup in front of a packed vociferous crowd at the A.O. Shirley Ground on Sunday 12th February, 2017.

The only goal of the game came from Terry Nanton in the 75th minute as he appeared unmarked at the far post to head home a loose ball, which eluded Monty Butler and Nano Ottley, the latter under pressure from Derol Redhead, as they attempted to clear the danger.

Both teams put on a display to thrill the crowd and give the new Presidents Cup a tremendous debut on the F.A. calendar, as the Association continually looks to improve the competitive nature of domestic football.

Chances went begging at both ends throughout the pulsating encounter, with Kevin Fisher and Rohan Lennon both off target for the Islanders, whilst Mohammed Kachour and Allon Williams were also guilty of wasting clear cut goal attempts.

The midfield was also packed full of incident and intrigue, with many challenges proving the intense rivalry between the two teams. Fisher and Jahzeel Castillo were left in no doubt how tough things were going to be, as were Nanton, McGraw Baptiste and Akeem Hendrikson. However, in the end the match was played at thunderous speed, despite the Final being played 24 hours after the semi-finals and the skill of both teams proved an amazing advert for Football.

At the final whistle Nanton was breathless and struggling to contain his joy at beating the old foe in another cup final “Yea Man, I don’t even know how to explain how I feel, am just so happy”


Coach of the Islanders, who already had the National League under their belts, Javon Carty was more philosophical,  “we came in with some injuries and fatigue, which cost is, but at the end of the day congratulations to the Sugar Boys, they played well, fought hard and deserved the 1-0 win”

The National League and Presidents Cup Trophy presentation included awards to Phillip Jules (Panthers F.C) as Youth Player of the Season, Maxcell Dabreo (Rebels F.C.) as Golden Glove, Kevin Fisher (Islanders F.C.) as Golden Boot, Ranalie Caines (Islanders F.C.) as Player of the Month and Richard Morgan (One Love F.C.) as League MVP.

Flow also presented Phones to the Individual winners.

The Islanders took home $5,000 as League Champions, the Sugar Boys, $1,000 as Presidents Cup Winners