shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View Cart Check Out

With a 5-3 victory against Rebels FC, on Sunday at East End/ Long Look, One Love FC have taken an uncatchable lead atop the National League standings and will be celebrating a second title in five years.

2018 Champions, One Love were indebted to goals from Collin Lavia, and an Alcise Savary brace to see them race into a 3-0 lead by the 64th minute, but Rebels then gave themselves a sniff of thwarting their oppoents as Johari Lacey pulled one back to make it 3-1. Lavia notched his second in the 73rd minute to calm One Loves nerves, but Lacey struck again to make it 4-2 in the 78th minute before Ervince Lockhart made it 4-3 in the 87th minute and anyone’s game. However, it was One Love who weren’t to be denied a second championship title as Zevon Samuel fired home in the 89th minute to secure the win.

“It was a great effort from everybody” commented Coach Left “we displayed wonderful football in our last two games, and I want to give the fans a big thank you for their support. It is a nice feeling to be returning champions, I knew the players were hungry for a title and I could see it coming.

Not only was One Love impressive in attack, but young keeper Devon Letteen kept numerous clean sheets and marshalled the defence showing maturity beyond his years.

One Love now has 49 points from 19 games and their nearest rivals, the Sugar Boys FC have 41 and only two games left, so despite beating the Islanders FC 2-0 on Sunday over in Virgin Gorda, they cannot catch One Love.

Derol Redhead scored both goals and commented after the game “it was an important win for us and welcomed the three points. We are looking to finish the season strong and be in the top four and qualify for the post season tournament. We weren’t at our best against Islanders and congratulations to One Love on taking the title.”

Also on the Virgin Gorda Recreation Ground, VG United richly entertained a large home crowd with a 12-0 rout of Positive FC, with goals coming from Sheldon Toney (2), T’Khoy Morton, Joel Mars, Joshua Ramprashad (3), Marvin Brown, Levon Williams (3) and Mikel Morian